Charles Pyngrope Appointed As Meghalaya TMC President

West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC Supremo Mamata Banerjee on Monday appointed MLA Charles Pyngrope as president of TMC, Meghalaya unit.

All 12 MLAs who defected from Congress last week met with Banerjee and national general secretary, AITC, Abhishek Banerjee in Kolkata. The MLAs elected Pyngrope as the president unanimously.


George B Lyngdoh was elected as the Opposition chief whip, and Mawsynram MLA Himalaya M Shangpliang was named secretary and spokesperson.

Meanwhile, Mukul Sangma, who along with 11 other Congress MLAs recently joined TMC, on Tuesday asserted that Trinamool Congress flags will flutter across the state in the next 45 days.

Sangma said that the entire Northeast wants a “true alternative” to the Congress that can sincerely take on the BJP and promote the interests of the people of the region, and “All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) chairperson (Mamata Banerjee) is the force they should gravitate to”.

Addressing a press conference at the TMC headquarters inKolkata, the two-times Meghalaya chief minister said that the legislators’ decision to join the party was not an overnight decision and they had deliberated for long how to protect the interests of the people of the state, “which was not possible under the central Congress leadership”.

Also Read:

Mukul Sangma, 11 Other Meghalaya MLAs, Meet Mamata Banerjee

Leave a Comment