Rohit Sharma Named India’s T20I Squad Captain For NZ Series

The Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI) has announced the squad for the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand and it has been revealed that Rohit Sharma is all set to lead the Men in Blue.

On Tuesday, the board announced a 16-member squad that will play three T20Is against the Kiwis starting later this month.

The squad will see the exclusion of some marquee players while some young talents have been called up to the squad. KL Rahul has been appointed as vice-captain of the team.

It will also be maiden international call-ups for IPL sensations Venkatesh Iyer and Harshal Patel. Iyer was part of Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL 2021, scoring 370 runs at an average of 41.11 with four half-centuries and tallying three wickets.

He played a crucial role in the two-time champions reaching the final.

Harshal served the Royal Challengers Bangalore and was the leading wicket-taker with 32 wickets, the joint-highest in a single edition of the IPL, including a hat-trick against five-time champions Mumbai Indians. Rahul Dravid will now take over the head coach duties, as Ravi Shastri’s tenure ended.

The home series against New Zealand starts on November 17.

Leave a Comment