Nagaland Government To Create 3 More Districts

Nagaland cabinet on Saturday approved creation of three new districts– Tseminyu, Chümoukedima and Niuland, bringing the total number to 15 in Nagaland.

According to sources, the decision was made at a cabinet meeting chaired by chief minister Neiphiu Rio.

The decision also comes amid a series of recent rallies launched by the Rengma community to press for a separate Tseminyu district.

According to sources, the nod for three more districts means that Tseminyu will be the 13th, Niuland the 14th and Chümoukedima the 15th district of the state.

The cabinet, in principle, also approved granting status of district to Shamator.

However, it was learnt that creation of a separate district (Shamator) will be made possible only if different tribes inhabiting the sub-division agree on the matter.

Meanwhile, highly placed sources informed that the chief minister during the meeting asserted that his government will not bifurcate areas that are inhabited by one tribe.

Also Read:

NF Railways Announces Extension Of Vistadome Special Up To Badarpur

Leave a Comment